Alberta Crowns Top Truckers at Annual Driving Championships

Alberta’s top drivers from across the province descended on the Rosenau Transport yard Calgary to compete in the AMTA Truck Driving Champtionship June 16. The annual event, hosted by Alberta Motor Transport Association, challenges each driver to demonstrate his or her driving and inspection skills, knowledge and professionalism through a series of rigourous tests. The drivers under went a written examination, personal interview, pre-trip inspection test and driving skills test.
Finalists in each of five categories move on to compete at the National Truck Driving Championships which will be held in Moncton, N.B. later this year.
The event standings are as follows:
Straight Truck Division
First Place: Keith Franklin – Canadian Freightways
Second Place: Randy James Smith – Canadian Freightways
Third Place: Kevin Corscadden – Sokil Express
Single, Single Division
First Place: Calvin Briggs – Grimshaw Trucking
Second Place: Darren Tychkowsky – Fed-Ex Freight
Third Place: Kent Friesen – Canadian Freightways
Single Tandem Division
First Place: Rick Ross – Canadian Freightways
Second Place: Gordon Lowen – Grimshaw Trucking
Third Place: Rob Pirzek – YRC Reimer Express
Tandem, Tandem Division
First Place: Paul Mills – Canada Safeway
Second Place: Rod Harrison – Canadian Freightways
Third Place: Kevin Chapman – Orlicks Transport
B-Train Division
First Place: Lonni Wilton – Canadian Freightways
Second Place: Steve Calhoun – Canadian Freightways
Third Place: Jim Pennington – Sokil Express
Grand Champion: Paul Mills – Canada Safeway
Rookie of the Year: Andre Roy – Bison Transport
Team Award: Canadian Freightways – Calgary